India Russia agree to work closely on key issues at the UNSC

India and Russia have agreed to work closely together on key issues on the UNSC agenda. The declaration came after the bilateral consultations on UNSC issues held on 16 February 2021 in Moscow.

A press release from MEA, India said that the bilateral consultations were held at the DG level where the Russian delegation was led by Peter Ilichev, Director of the Department of International Organizations of Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russian Federation. The Indian delegation was led by Prakash Gupta, Joint Secretary (UNP & Summits). He was accompanied by officials from Embassy of India in Moscow.

The MEA said that both sides appreciated intensive on-going bilateral contacts on UN issues, including with respect to wide range of issues on the UNSC agenda. The Indian delegation briefed the Russian side on India’s priorities during its UNSC tenure.

Both sides agreed to work closely together on key issues on the UNSC agenda, in keeping with the special and privileged strategic partnership.

India-Russia at UNSC

Russia has supported India on many occasion in the recent times. When the issue of abrogation of Article 370 was brought up at the UN in August 2019, Russia had remarked it as an “internal and domestic” issue.

With respect to Kashmir, Russia itself has been a victim of Islamic radicalism and secessionism in Chechnya, and therefore, has been supportive of India on the matter and has reiterated ad nauseam that Kashmir is a bilateral issue.

It can be recalled that Russia has also supported India’s bid for a permanent seat in UN Security Council. In January 2020, Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov said that India is a strong nominee to become a permanent member of the UNSC. He had said that Moscow supports India’s candidacy and believes India can become a full-fledged member of the Security Council.

UNSC comprises five permanent members and 10 non-permanent members. India has been elected as non-permanent member of the UN Security Council for a two-year term in 2020. India’s two year term began on January 1, 2021.

Spread the love

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *